Author: Dick Winters, Genre: Biography & Autobiography, Total Page: 320, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9781101205662

“Tells the tales left untold by Stephen Ambrose, whose Band of Brothers was the inspiration for the HBO miniseries...laced with Winters’s soldierly exaltations of pride in his comrades’ bravery.”—Publishers Weekly They were called Easy Company—but their mission was never easy. Immortalized as the Band of Brothers, they suffered 150% casualties while liberating Europe—an unparalleled record of bravery under fire. Winner of the Distinguished Service Cross, Dick Winters was their legendary commander. This is his story—told in his own words for the first time. On D-Day, Winters assumed leadership of the Band of Brothers when its commander was killed and led them through the Battle of the Bulge and into Germany—by which time each member had been wounded. Based on Winters’s wartime diary, Beyond Band of Brothers also includes his comrades’ untold stories. Virtually none of this material appeared in Stephen Ambrose’s Band of Brothers. Neither a protest against nor a glamorization of war, this is a moving memoir by the man who earned the love and respect of the men of Easy Company—and who is a hero to new generations worldwide. Includes photos

Author: Stephen E. Ambrose, Genre: History, Total Page: 336, Publisher: Simon and Schuster, ISBN: 9781471109256

**THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER** The book that inspired Steven Spielberg’s acclaimed TV series, produced by Tom Hanks and starring Damian Lewis. In Band of Brothers, Stephen E. Ambrose pays tribute to the men of Easy Company, a crack rifle company in the US Army. From their rigorous training in Georgia in 1942 to the dangerous parachute landings on D-Day and their triumphant capture of Hitler’s ‘Eagle’s Nest’ in Berchtesgaden. Ambrose tells the story of this remarkable company. Repeatedly send on the toughest missions, these brave men fought, went hungry, froze and died in the service of their country. A tale of heroic adventures and soul-shattering confrontations, Band of Brothers brings back to life, as only Stephen E. Ambrose can, the profound ties of brotherhood forged in the barracks and on the battlefields. ‘History boldly told and elegantly written . . . Gripping’ Wall Street Journal ‘Ambrose proves once again he is a masterful historian . . . spellbinding’ People

Author: William Guarnere, Genre: History, Total Page: 322, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9780425224366

Tom Hanks introduces the “remarkable” (Publishers Weekly) true story of two inseparable friends and soldiers portrayed in the HBO® miniseries Band of Brothers. William “Wild Bill” Guarnere and Edward “Babe” Heffron were among the first paratroopers of the U.S. Army—members of an elite unit of the 101st Airborne Division called Easy Company. The crack unit was called upon for every high-risk operation of the war, including D-Day, Operation Market Garden in Holland, the Battle of the Bulge, and the capture of Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest in Berchtesgaden. In his own words, Guarnere gives a gripping account of D-Day from the paratrooper’s perspective. Both men vividly re-create dropping into Holland to capture the roads and bridges between Eindhoven and Arnhem, known as Hell’s Highway. Through much of 1944 both friends fought side by side—until Guarnere lost his right leg in the Battle of the Bulge and was sent home. Heffron went on to liberate slave labor and concentration camps and capture Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest hideout. United by their experience, the two reconnected at the war’s end and were inseparable up until their deaths. Brothers in Battle, Best of Friends is a tribute to the lasting bond forged between comrades in arms under fire and to all the brave men who fought fearlessly for freedom. Includes photographs

Author: Erik Dorr, Genre: History, Total Page: 574, Publisher: Permuted Press, ISBN: 9781682619186

Major Dick Winters of the 101st Airborne gained international acclaim when the tale of he and his men were depicted in the celebrated book and miniseries Band of Brothers. Hoisted as a modest hero who spurned adulation, Winters epitomized the notion of dignified leadership. His iconic World War II exploits have since been depicted in art and commemorated with monuments. Beneath this marble image of a reserved officer is the story of a common Pennsylvanian tested by the daily trials and tribulations of military duty. His wartime correspondence with pen pal and naval reservist, DeEtta Almon, paints an endearing portrait of life on both the home front and battlefront—capturing the humor, horror, and humility that defined a generation. Interwoven with previously unpublished diary entries, military reports, postwar reminiscences, private photos, personal artifacts, and rich historical context, Winters’s letters offer compelling insights on the individual costs and motivations of World War II service members. Winters’s heartfelt prose reveals his mindset of the moment. From stateside training to the hedgerows of Normandy, his correspondence immerses readers in the dramatic experiences of the 1940s. Via the lost art of letter writing, the immediacy and honesty of Winters’s observations takes us beyond the traditional accounts of the fabled 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment’s Easy Company. This engaging narrative offers a unique blend of personal wit, leadership ethics, and broader observations of a world at war. Hang Tough is a deeply intimate, timely reflection on a rising officer and the philosophies that molded him into a hero among heroes. Hang Tough “will help people better understand the man I knew and respected so much. Folks should know what we all went through during the war.” —Bradford Freeman, Foreword

Author: Captain Peter Hore, Genre: History, Total Page: 176, Publisher: Seaforth Publishing, ISBN: 9781848323568

While there is a perennial interest in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic wars and in Nelson himself, there is no reference work that chronicles all the captains of his ships, their social origins, their characters and the achievements in their lives beyond their service under Nelson. This new book, researched and written by distinguished historians, descendants of some of Nelson's officers, and members of the 1805 Club, presents concise biographies of those officers who fought with Nelson in his three great battles, with superb colour illustration throughout. Nelson first gave the name of 'band of brothers' to the officers who had commanded ships of his fleet at the battle of the Nile (1798). This new volume will include 100 officers, ranging from lieutenants in command of gunboats at the battle of Copenhagen (1801) through captains of line-of- battle ships at the Nile and at Trafalgar (1805), to admirals in command of squadrons in his fleets. Of real significance are the specially commissioned photographs of all the monuments and memorials to Nelson's captains, descriptions with transcriptions of epitaphs, and clear directions to enable the readers to find them. Part travel book, part biography and moving testimony to Nelson's faithful captains, Nelson's band of Brothers presents the opportunity to rediscover 100 local heroes.

Author: Tom Keene, Genre: History, Total Page: 256, Publisher: The History Press, ISBN: 9780750963589

Endorsed at the highest level by Churchill, who wanted British raiders to take the fight to the enemy shore, fifty commandos were formed into a secret army – the elite Maid Honor unit, later renamed the Small Scale Raiding Force. Created to make mayhem and sow fear in the hearts of those guarding the enemy shore, every man was a handpicked volunteer. In almost twenty daring missions to the rock-bound coasts of enemy occupied Brittany and Normandy, they kidnapped sentries, seized code books and ciphers, ransacked barracks and ambushed patrols. In doing so they wreaked havoc along the rim of Hitler’s Festung Europa. In almost forensic detail, Tom Keene tells their extraordinary story of courage and daring, patriotism and friendship.

Author: Stephen E. Ambrose, Genre: Business & Economics, Total Page: 468, Publisher: Simon and Schuster, ISBN: 0743203178

Chronicles the race to finish the transcontinental railroad in the 1860s and the exploits, sacrifices, triumphs, and tragedies of the individuals who made it happen.

Author: Edwin O. Guthman, Genre: , Total Page: 339, Publisher: Harper & Row Barnes & Noble Import Division, ISBN: UOM:39015049656948

Author: Megan MacKenzie, Genre: Political Science, Total Page: 233, Publisher: Cambridge University Press, ISBN: 9781107049765

This book examines the role of women in the US military and the key arguments used to justify the combat exclusion policy.

Author: Alexander Fullerton, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 242, Publisher: Canelo, ISBN: 9781911591450

Danger and bravery at sea from thriller-master Alexander Fullerton. It is early autumn 1943 and a German U-boat supply ship is sailing under heavy escort from Le Havre to the Atlantic. A mixed force of torpedo boats from Allied Coastal Forces is ordered to intercept and sink her. Navigator Ben Quarry has other worries. His girlfriend, Rosie, is set on returning to occupied France as an SOE agent, and his former mistress, now the wife of his CO, Bob Stack, has embarked on an affair with another officer. Ben’s got to tell him. But in the heat of battle, survival is everything… A standalone naval thriller from a writer who was there, Band of Brothers will keep you gripped, and is perfect for fans of Max Hennessy and Alan Evans.