Author: Patrick Van Horne, Genre: Health & Fitness, Total Page: 240, Publisher: Black Irish Books, ISBN: 9781936891184

"At a time when we must adapt to the changing character of conflict, this is a serious book on a serious issue that can give us the edge we need.” —General James Mattis, USMC, Ret. "Left of Bang offers a crisp lesson in survival in which Van Horne and Riley affirm a compelling truth: It's better to detect sinister intentions early than respond to violent actions late. Left of Bang helps readers avoid the bang." —Gavin de Becker, bestselling author of The Gift of Fear "Rare is the book that is immediately practical and interesting. Left of Bang accomplishes this from start to finish. There is something here for everyone in the people business and we are all in the people business." —Joe Navarro, bestselling author of What Every BODY is Saying. "Left of Bang is a highly important and innovative book that offers a substantial contribution to answering the challenge of Fourth Generation war (4GW)." —William S. Lind, author of Maneuver Warfare Handbook "Like Sun Tzu's The Art of War, Left of Bang isn't just for the military. It's a must read for anyone who has ever had a gut feeling that something's not quite right...be it walking down the street, sitting in a corporate boardroom, or even entering an empty home." --Steven Pressfield, bestselling author of The Lion's Gate, The Warrior Ethos and Gates of Fire “An amazing book! Applying the lessons learned during the longest war in American history, and building on seminal works like The Gift of Fear and On Combat, this book provides a framework of knowledge that will bring military, law enforcement, and individual citizens to new levels of survival mindset and performance in life-and-death situations. Left of Bang is an instant classic.” --Lt. Colonel Dave Grossman, U.S. Army Ret., author of On Combat and On Killing -- You walk into a restaurant and get an immediate sense that you should leave. -- You are about to step onto an elevator with a stranger and something stops you. -- You interview a potential new employee who has the resume to do the job, but something tells you not to offer a position. These scenarios all represent LEFT OF BANG, the moments before something bad happens. But how many times have you talked yourself out of leaving the restaurant, getting off the elevator, or getting over your silly “gut” feeling about someone? Is there a way to not just listen to your inner protector more, but to actually increase your sensitivity to threats before they happen? Legendary Marine General James Mattis asked the same question and issued a directive to operationalize the Marine Corps’ Combat Hunter program. A comprehensive and no-nonsense approach to heightening each and every one of our gifts of fear, LEFT OF BANG is the result.

Author: Patrick Van Horne, Genre: Health & Fitness, Total Page: 228, Publisher: , ISBN: 1936891301

Describes how to listen to your inner protector and increase your sensitivity to threats before they happen.

Author: Claire Lowdon, Genre: , Total Page: 352, Publisher: Fourth Estate, ISBN: 0008102163

âe~An unflinchingly honest portrayal of Londoner life with great empathy, style and humour âe¦ A Vanity Fair of our times âe¦ Tamsin Jarvis will resonate long after the final page is turned.âe(tm) Stylist Daringly, radically honest and very, very funny, this is the best novel yet about the âe~lost generationâe(tm) of young Londoners today. Left of the bang: a military term for the build-up to an explosion. For failing concert pianist Tamsin Jarvis, the pressure is mounting. She thought she was happy with her adoring schoolteacher boyfriend Callum, but when Chris comes into their lives, that starts to change. In a few months Chris will be gone, leaving for his first tour of Afghanistan. Nothing seems to be working out the way Tamsin wants it to âe" in fact, sheâe(tm)s not even sure what it is she wants. With sharp, satirical humour, unparalleled social observation, extreme sexual honesty and great empathy, Claire Lowdon has captured the foibles, hopes and difficulties that characterise a strata of young London today. A funny, unflinching insiderâe(tm)s view on the generation born in the 1980s âe" who are often having much less fun than it seems âe" this is a Vanity Fair for our times.

Author: Paul R. Howe, Genre: History, Total Page: 464, Publisher: Simon and Schuster, ISBN: 9781628730005

Ideal for fans of Dave Grossman, Paul Howe, George Thompson, and other authors of police books A brilliant military intelligence book that shares leadership and training for the fight Includes riveting stories of military operations In Leadership and Training for the Fight, MSG Paul R. Howe, U.S. Army Retired, shares his thoughts on leadership that he has developed through extensive combat experience. Howe analyzes leadership concepts. He also provides advice on how to understand students and to change your teaching methods. This military and leadership training book is based on Howe’s unique insight as a Special Operations soldier. Leadership and Training for the Fight is the perfect guide for anyone interested in improving their leadership skills, whether in military or civilian situations.

Author: Tim Larkin, Genre: Social Science, Total Page: 304, Publisher: Little, Brown, ISBN: 9780316354639

In a civilized society, violence is rarely the answer. But when it is-it's the only answer. The sound of breaking glass downstairs in the middle of the night. The words, "Move and you die." The hands on your child, or the knife to your throat. In this essential book, self-protection expert and former military intelligence officer Tim Larkin changes the way we think about violence in order to save our lives. By deconstructing our assumptions about violence-its morality, its function in modern society, how it actually works-Larkin unlocks the shackles of our own taboos and arms us with what we need to know to prevent, prepare for, and survive the unthinkable event of life-or-death violence. Through a series of harrowing true-life stories, Larkin demonstrates that violence is a tool equally effective in the hands of the "bad guy" or the "good guy"; that the person who acts first, fastest and with the full force of their body is the one who survives; and that each and every one of us is capable of being that person when our lives are at stake. An indispensable resource, When Violence is the Answer will remain with you long after you've finished reading, as the bedrock of your self-protection skills and knowledge.

Author: Ph.D. Julia Dye, Genre: Technology & Engineering, Total Page: 332, Publisher: Warriors Publishing Group via PublishDrive, ISBN: PKEY:6610000197286

Noncommissioned officers stand as the backbone of the United States Marine Corps. The Corps is among the most lasting institutions in America, though few understand what makes it so strong and how that understanding can be applied effectively in today’s world. In this insightful and thoroughly researched book, Julia Dye explores the cadre of noncommissioned officers that make up the Marine Corps’ system of small-unit leadership. To help us better understand what makes these extraordinary men and women such effective leaders, Dye examines the fourteen leadership traits embraced by every NCO. These qualities— including judgment, enthusiasm, determination, bearing, and unselfishness—are exemplified by men like Terry Anderson, the former Marine sergeant who spent nearly seven years as a hostage in Beirut, John Basilone, the hero of the Pacific, and many others. To assemble this extraordinary chronicle, Julia Dye interviewed Anderson and dozens of other Marines, mining a rich trove of historical and modern NCO heroes that comprise the Marine Corps’ astonishing legacy, from its founding in 1775 to the present day.

Author: Floor Bal, Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction, Total Page: 34, Publisher: Kids Can Press Ltd, ISBN: 9781525304033

An accessible and engaging primer on the history of the universe and life on Earth. In this delightful book, kids can follow the fascinating story of how we got from the beginning of the universe to life today on the “bright blue ball floating in space” called Earth. They’ll learn about the big bang theory, how our solar system and planet were formed, how life on Earth began in the oceans and moved to land, what happened to the dinosaurs and how humans evolved from apes to build communities all over the planet … and even travel to space! Kids will be enthralled by this out-of-this-world look at how the universe began!

Author: Joe Kelly, Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels, Total Page: 136, Publisher: Image Comics, ISBN: 9781632153708

Vinnie has a new life. New York, the mob and all its horrors are a distant memory...until Autumn blows into San Francisco. Autumn, the one who broke his heart, the one he left behind...begging Vinnie to pull one last job: Rob the sadistic mob boss who wants him dead...so she can afford the gender reassignment surgery that will make her the woman Vinnie always wanted. Remastering the provocative Vertigo series, this new volume presents Bang!Tango as it was always meant to be!

Author: Steve Tarani, Genre: , Total Page: , Publisher: , ISBN: 1532354568

Author: Dave Grossman, Genre: History, Total Page: 403, Publisher: Human Factor Research Group Incorporated, ISBN: PSU:000063120769

Looks at the effect of deadly battle on the body and mind and offers new research findings to help prevent lasting adverse effects.