Author: E. Lockhart, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 272, Publisher: Delacorte Press, ISBN: 9781524766955

The New York Times bestseller We Were Liars is now available as a not-to-be-missed hardcover deluxe edition! Whether you know how it ends (shh . . . don’t tell!) or have let too many seasons go by without discovering the truth about the Liars for yourself, you will want to get your hands on the exclusive new content in this deluxe edition. And act fast: the first printing is signed by the author! A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth. We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. In addition to the bestselling novel, the collector’s edition includes: · Never-before-shared letters from Gat to Cadence · A fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the author’s creative process · The author’s hand-drawn map of Beechwood Island and the Sinclair family tree · Unique ideas for book discussions—Sinclair family–style · An excerpt from E. Lockhart’s upcoming novel Genuine Fraud—a psychological thriller that will leave you breathless Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE. Praise for We Were Liars: 20 Weeks on the New York Times Bestseller List One of James Patterson's "Favorite Thrillers for the Beach" (The New York Times) “Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents.” —The Wall Street Journal “A rich, stunning summer mystery with a sharp twist that will leave you dying to talk about the book with a pal or ten.” —Parade.com “Thrilling, beautiful, and blisteringly smart, We Were Liars is utterly unforgettable.” —John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars “You’re going to want to remember the title. Liars details the summers of a girl who harbors a dark secret, and delivers a satisfying, but shocking twist ending.” —Entertainment Weekly “An ambitious novel with an engaging voice, a clever plot and some terrific writing.” —The New York Times Book Review “No one should be talking about the shocking twist ending. What we can talk about is . . . [Lockhart’s] razor-sharp portrayal of a family for whom keeping up appearances is paramount and, ultimately, tragic.” —Chicago Tribune

Author: E. Lockhart, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 321, Publisher: Delacorte Press, ISBN: 9780593485873

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The addictive prequel to the TikTok phenomenon We Were Liars: the story of another summer, another generation—and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come. "I anticipated that at some point a shocking twist would come. And, wow, does it ever." —The New York Times "A perfect beach read." —The Boston Globe A windswept private island off the coast of Massachusetts. A hungry ocean, churning with secrets and sorrow. A fiery, addicted heiress. An irresistible, unpredictable boy. A summer of unforgivable betrayal and terrible mistakes. Welcome back to the Sinclair family. They were always liars.

Author: Sarah Gailey, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 320, Publisher: Tor Books, ISBN: 9781250174604

A 2020 LOCUS AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL Sharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in Magic for Liars, a fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey. Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it. Ivy Gamble is perfectly happy with her life – or at least, she’s perfectly fine. She doesn't in any way wish she was like Tabitha, her estranged, gifted twin sister. Ivy Gamble is a liar. When a gruesome murder is discovered at The Osthorne Academy of Young Mages, where her estranged twin sister teaches Theoretical Magic, reluctant detective Ivy Gamble is pulled into the world of untold power and dangerous secrets. She will have to find a murderer and reclaim her sister—without losing herself. “An unmissable debut.”—Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Author: Ida Linehan Young, Genre: , Total Page: 274, Publisher: , ISBN: 1771178019

1895. Alice and John MacDonald, both running from pasts that were too traumatic to face, meet by chance and stay together in a fragile world that's rife with lies and secrets. The only thing they have in common is the love for a seven-year-old child, Beatrice, whom they have raised since she was a baby. When an escaped murderer triggers a series of events that will significantly change the lives of John and Alice and jeopardize the life of their darling daughter, they must take drastic action to protect the welfare of the child. Follow John and Alice as they are forced to leave the wilds of Labrador for an isolated future in Holyrood, Newfoundland, only to have their world turned upside down when they must face the consequences of the lives they lived. As the reality of their past unfolds with disastrous outcomes, will it mean they lose Beatrice forever to the mother who has longed for the child--a child born from a vicious assault and given away by a cruel stepmother--and is now eager to make her part of her new family?

Author: Ian Leslie, Genre: Philosophy, Total Page: 400, Publisher: House of Anansi, ISBN: 9781770890282

Lying is an intrinsic part of our social fabric, but it is also a deeply problematic and misunderstood aspect of what makes us human. Ian Leslie takes us on a fascinating journey that makes us question not only our own relationship to the truth, but also virtually every daily encounter we have. On the way he dissects the history of the lie detector, how parents affect their children’s attitude to lying (and vice versa), Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?, the philosophical ambiguity of telling the truth, Bill Clinton’s presentational prowess, Wonder Woman’s lasso of truth, and why we should be wary of anyone with more than 150 Facebook friends. Born Liars is thought-provoking, anecdotally driven narrative nonfiction at its best. Ian Leslie’s intoxicating blend of anthropology, biology, cultural history, philosophy, and popular psychology belies a serious central message: that humans have evolved and thrived in large part because of their ability to deceive.

Author: Astrid Scholte, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 464, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9780593112380

In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has had one goal—to see illegal users of magic brought to justice. People who carelessly use extradimensional magic for their own self-interest, without a care to the damage it does to society or those around them, deserve to be punished as far as Cayder is concerned. Because magic always has a price. So when Cayder lands a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to apprentice under a premier public defender, he takes it. If he can learn all the tricks of public defense, the better he’ll be able to dismantle defense arguments when he’s a prosecutor. Then he’ll finally be able to make sure justice is served. But when he meets the three criminals he’s supposed to defend, it no longer seems so black and white. They’re teenagers, like him, and their stories are . . . complicated, like his. Vardean, the prison where Cayder’s new clients are incarcerated, also happens to be at the very heart of the horrible tear in the veil between their world and another dimension—where all magic comes from. League of Liars is a dark and twisty mystery set in a richly-drawn world where nothing is as it seems, rife with magic, villains and danger.

Author: May Archer, Genre: , Total Page: 328, Publisher: , ISBN: 9798552247462

Parrish Partridge's True Facts: There's nothing hotter than a tall, gruff, bewildered, tattooed mountain of a man cuddling a sweet, orphaned baby, so you can tell yourself that you'll resist him... But that's a lie. And when that man asks you to do him a favor and pretend to be his very temporary, very fake fiance to help him get custody of that adorable baby, you can pretend you know better than to say yes... But that's a lie, too. And when you actually get to know your kind, strong, pullet-loving prince of a fiance, and all his crazy, lovable, meddling neighbors, you can tell yourself you're not really falling for Diesel Church and the town of Licking Thicket... But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Author: Ann Patchett, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 400, Publisher: HarperCollins, ISBN: 9780547548401

In 1992, celebrated novelist Ann Patchett launched her remarkable career with the publication of her debut novel, The Patron Saint of Liars. On this 25th anniversary, read the best-selling book that is “beautifully written . . . a first novel that second- and third-time novelists would envy for its grace, insight, and compassion” (Boston Herald). St. Elizabeth's, a home for unwed mothers in Habit, Kentucky, usually harbors its residents for only a little while. Not so Rose Clinton, a beautiful, mysterious woman who comes to the home pregnant but not unwed, and stays. She plans to give up her child, thinking she cannot be the mother it needs. But when Cecilia is born, Rose makes a place for herself and her daughter amid St. Elizabeth's extended family of nuns and an ever-changing collection of pregnant teenage girls. Rose's past won't be kept away, though, even by St. Elizabeth's; she cannot remain untouched by what she has left behind, even as she cannot change who she has become in the leaving.

Author: Amelia Kahaney, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 263, Publisher: Flatiron Books, ISBN: 9781250312716

Amelia Kahaney's All the Best Liars is a dark, modern psychological thriller and coming-of-age story about obsession, manipulation, and the intensity of those first friendships that take hold of you and never let go Tic-tac-toe, three girls in a row. Nine years old and inseparable. Friends for life, or so they think . . . Best friends Syd, Rain, and Brie grew up on the wrong side of the tracks in the stifling California desert, desperately wishing for a way out. When a deadly fire is set two weeks before the end of high school, nothing will ever be the same. In the end, each of them will escape—but not in the way any of them expects. One will do it by dying, another by lying, a third by taking the fall. With gorgeous, taut prose and twists to the very last page, All the Best Liars alternates between the present and the past to unravel the truth behind the fire and the cost of the secrets at the heart of their friendship.

Author: Kate Beasley, Genre: Juvenile Fiction, Total Page: 304, Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), ISBN: 9780374302658

Frederick Frederickson has a food-chain theory about life. There are lions, like the school bully. Gazelles, like the bullied kids. There are meerkats, and the fleas that live on the butts of meerkats. Frederick's a flea. Fifth grade is off to a terrible start when Frederick is sent to a disciplinary camp for troublesome boys. His fellow troop mates—Nosebleed, Specs, The Professor, and little-yet-lethal Ant Bite—are terrifying. But in between trust-building exercises and midnight escape attempts, a tenuous friendship grows between them. Which is lucky, because a Category 5 hurricane is coming and everyone will have to work together—lions and fleas alike—to survive! Kate Beasley outdoes herself in this hilarious, whip-smart tale of brotherhood, survival, and what it really means to be a friend.