Author: Sloane Kennedy, Genre: , Total Page: 82, Publisher: Independently Published, ISBN: 1797779168

Landscape architect Devon Rhodes doesn't know what to think when he overhears a heated conversation in his new next-door neighbor's back yard, but when he decides to intervene, he definitely isn't expecting the encounter to change his life forever.Forced to retire from his career as a professional ballet dancer far too soon, Sebastian DeVille has moved to the quiet suburbs of San Francisco to figure things out and maybe get away from his poor decisions for a while.Well, one poor decision.His very married ex.An ugly argument with the man leads to an unlikely meeting with his sexy new neighbor and an unexpected Valentine's date that neither Sebastian nor Devon will ever forget. But can one night of pretend romance really lead to a lifetime of love?*Although this is part of my Protectors universe, this short story can be read as a standalone.**Please note that this story was previously part of a promotional giveaway so it was intended to be a certain length. Although it is a complete story with an HEA, if you don't care for short stories, Devon and Sebastian's tale may not be for you.

Author: River Laurent, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 360, Publisher: R Laurent, ISBN: 1911608452

Charlotte. I thought I'd lost my bag for good. Until, the cutest guy I ever laid eyes on hung out of the moving train's window holding my bag. He wanted to chuck it to me, but my precious laptop was in it. So we agreed to meet at the next station. To thank my six foot plus Adonis I offered to buy him a drink. It was only right. He saved my bag, and he had twinkling cobalt blue eyes that made my toes curl. He was funny and charming and gorgeous at the bar. And the chemistry... off the charts, but I had career dreams that didn't include handsome bag rescuers. A few more drinks later I was rethinking my plans. Alex Turner looked like he would be great in bed, and I had a box of condoms back at my place. Surely one night was allowed...

Author: Tawdra Kandle , Genre: Fiction, Total Page: , Publisher: Tawdra Kandle Romance, ISBN:

I’ve had the mother of all crushes on my brother’s best friend since I was a preteen. Who can blame me? Nico is the perfect guy: he’s kind, funny, smart . . . he’s a talented chef, and he looks like a Greek god. When he helped me get this job, I was excited that we were actually going to live in the same town again. But then he moved to Chicago, sub-letting me his house, which is awesome for my budget but sad for my body. And my heart. The fact that Nico's on my mind is the only excuse I have for why I used his name when I needed a pretend boyfriend in order to keep my new job. But now that I've done it, it's no big deal, right? I mean, he's in Chicago, and I'm in Florida. He'll never have to know . . . Until the unexpected happens, and Nico’s back home. Suddenly, I have a lot of explaining to do. Although I convince Nico to play along, each day it gets harder to make believe something that feels so real. How long can I keep pretending . . . before the truth comes out?

Author: Lucy Score, Genre: , Total Page: 476, Publisher: , ISBN: 1945631562

If you can't stand the heat, don't fall for a firefighter... Fire Chief Lincoln Reed is known for his heroics in the fire department and in the bedroom. Life is a never-ending good time. Until she lands in the middle of the accident scene he's working...and then his backyard. Too bad she's immune to flirty first responders. Flight trauma surgeon Mackenzie O'Neil is on a crash course with burnout. She's got a scar on her face and a shake in her hands. A temporary job as a small-town family physician is just the prescription. She'll learn to meditate. Sleep more. Take up gardening. She definitely won't take her shirtless, firefighting neighbor's hot body for a test drive. But Linc and his tattoos are very persuasive. What's a harmless little adrenaline-fueled fling between neighbors? It's all naked fun and games until the shadows from Mack's past find their way into her present. Can Linc be her hero when she needs him the most or will their scars ruin everything? One thing is certain: Someone is going to get burned.

Author: Elisabeth Norebäck, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 368, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9780735218550

In this riveting domestic suspense debut, a woman's life shatters when she meets a girl she believes is the daughter she lost years ago--and she finds that reclaiming the life she lost might cost her the life she has. Tell Me You're Mine is a story of guilt, grief, and the delicate balance between love and obsession. Where is the line between hope and madness? Three women: one who believes she has found her long lost daughter, one terrified she's about to lose her child, and one determined to understand who she truly is. Stella Widstrand is a psychotherapist, a happily married mother to a thirteen-year-old son. But when a young woman named Isabelle steps into her clinic to begin therapy, Stella's placid life begins to crumble. She is convinced that Isabelle is her daughter, Alice. The baby that tragically disappeared more than twenty years ago on a beach during a family vacation. Alice is believed to have drowned, but her body was never found. Stella has always believed that Alice is alive, somewhere--but everyone around her worries she's delusional. Could this be Alice? Stella will risk everything to answer that question, but in doing so she will set in motion a sequence of events beyond her control, endangering herself and everyone she loves.

Author: Rea Frey, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 352, Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin, ISBN: 9781250166456

An “insidious, suspenseful tale” (J.T. Ellison) with a “shocker of an ending you won’t see coming” (Michele Campbell), Because You're Mine by Rea Frey, the author who “brings to mind Jodi Picoult” (Booklist) and “will appeal to readers of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen” (Sally Hepworth) is a novel about how the truth will set you free. But it’s the lies that keep you safe. Single mother Lee has the daily routine down to a science: shower in six minutes. Cut food into perfect squares. Never leave her on-the-spectrum son Mason in someone else’s care. She’ll do anything—anything—to keep his carefully constructed world from falling apart. Do anything to keep him safe. But when her best friend Grace convinces her she needs a small break from motherhood to recharge her batteries, Lee gives in to a weekend trip. Surely a long weekend away from home won’t hurt? Noah, Mason’s handsome, bright, charismatic tutor—the first man in ages Lee’s even noticed—is more than happy to stay with him. Forty-eight hours later, someone is dead. But not all is as it seems. Noah may be more than who he claims to be. Grace has a secret—one that will destroy Lee. Lee has secrets of her own that she will do anything to keep hidden. And what will happen to Mason, as the dominoes begin to fall and the past comes to light? Perhaps it's no mystery someone is gone after all... Because You're Mine is a breathtaking novel of domestic drama and suspense. Prepare to stay up all night.

Author: Melanie Harlow, Genre: , Total Page: , Publisher: , ISBN: 0998310131

Theo MacLeod wasn't supposed to be the one.Tall, dark and handsome suits me just fine, but the cocky grin, know-it-all attitude, and mammoth ego? No thanks. I only hired him so I wouldn't have to sit at the singles table again. It was just pretend.He wasn't supposed to kiss me. My heart wasn't supposed to pound. We weren't supposed to spend the night together--the hottest night of my life. One night turns into a snowed-in weekend away, and even the blizzard of the century can't cool the fire between us. I can't get enough--of his smile, of his body, of the way he makes me feel.We're nothing alike. He's a daredevil, and I'm a nervous Nellie. He's a drifter, and I want to put down roots. He's an opportunist with a checkered past, and I'm a Girl Scout volunteer.But none of it matters when I'm in his arms.I know he's made mistakes. I know his wounds are deep, and he doesn't trust easily. I know he doesn't believe he could ever be enough to make me happy, but he could. All he has to do is stay.

Author: Jenny Lawson, Genre: Biography & Autobiography, Total Page: 384, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9781101573082

The #1 New York Times bestselling (mostly true) memoir from the hilarious author of Furiously Happy. “Gaspingly funny and wonderfully inappropriate.”—O, The Oprah Magazine When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it. In the irreverent Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter help her uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments—the ones we want to pretend never happened—are the very same moments that make us the people we are today. For every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud, this is a poignant and hysterical look at the dark, disturbing, yet wonderful moments of our lives. Readers Guide Inside

Author: Crystal Kaswell, Genre: , Total Page: , Publisher: , ISBN: 1942135378

Author: Lucy Score, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 0, Publisher: Bloom Books, ISBN: 1945631619

Dominic was staring at me like he couldn't decide whether to chop me into pieces or pull my hair and French kiss me. Dominic I got her fired. Okay, so I'd had a bad day and took it out on a bystander in a pizza shop. But there's nothing innocent about Ally Morales. She proves that the first day at her new job... in my office... after being hired by my mother. So maybe her colorful, annoying, inexplicably alluring personality brightens up the magazine's offices that have felt like a prison for the past year. Maybe I like that she argues with me in front of the editorial staff. And maybe my after-hours fantasies are haunted by those brown eyes and that sharp tongue. But that doesn't mean that I'm going to be the next Russo man to take advantage of his position. I might be a second-generation son of a... fill in the blank, but I am not my father. She's working herself to death at half a dozen dead-end jobs for some secret reason she doesn't feel like sharing with me. And I'm going to fix it all. Don't accuse me of caring. She's nothing more than a puzzle to be solved. If I can get her to quit, I can finally peel back all those layers. Then I can go back to salvaging the family name and forget all about the dancing, beer-slinging brunette. Ally Ha. Hold my beer, Grumpy Grump Face. Author's Note: A steamy, swoony workplace romantic comedy with a grumpy boss hero determined to save the day and a plucky heroine who is starting to wonder if there might actually be a beating heart beneath her boss's sexy vests.